A Mortal’s Wish

If I were to die as I am,
Would my journey be a wasted errand?
Would I decay in a barren land?
Not knowing where the trail ends?
Or would I stand before my Lord,
Saying Thy praises, Thy command,
That live, I did in pain an’ ease,
Workin hard with unfulfilled dreams,
Not knowing my time is counted,
Death shall strike before I mounted!
Oh death! No longer do I fear yer pangs,
For what can ye do to a noble man?
Harm ye may but only a strand,
Devour my body but not my soul,
Ye are not my end but a door,
To walk through to my real abode!
Setting me free to my Lord!

Leave a Reply

